TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize in Engineering Sciences - 2018

TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize in Engineering Sciences - 2018

Apply for the The 2018 TWAS-Lenovo [TWAS & Lenovo] Science Prize in Engineering Sciences for the monetary award of USD 100,000. See Eligibility, How To Apply and Nominations for 2018/2019.

TWAS, The World Academy of Sciences for the advancement of science in developing countries, was founded in 1983 in Trieste, Italy.

It is administered by UNESCO through an agreement between the Italian government and UNESCO.

TWAS's principal aim is to promote scientific capacity and excellence for sustainable development in the South.

Lenovo is a US$45 billion global Fortune 500 company and a leader in providing innovative consumer, commercial, and enterprise technology. Its portfolio of high-quality, secure products and services covers PCs (including the legendary Think and multimode YOGA brands), workstations, servers, storage, smart TVs and a family of mobile products like smartphones (including the Motorola brand), tablets and apps.


Together, TWAS and Lenovo are offering the TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize, which is intended to give international recognition and visibility to outstanding scientific achievements made by individual scientists in developing countries.


The specific subject area for nominations will change in each year.

The second four-year cycle (2017-2020) will focus on the following fields: geological sciences (2017), engineering sciences (2018), agricultural sciences (2019) and social sciences (2020).


The prize carries a monetary award of USD100,000, generously provided by Lenovo, a medal and a certificate bearing a citation highlighting the major contributions for which the prize is awarded.

The prize will be presented to the recipient at a special ceremony arranged by TWAS and Lenovo.


Candidates must be nationals of developing countries, living and working in the South for at least the last 10 years.

The prizes will only be awarded to individuals for scientific research of outstanding international merit carried out at institutions in developing countries.


The evaluation is carried out by a scientific committee, chaired by the TWAS president, consisting of an authoritative and international jury and a designated representative from Lenovo. Jury members and previous winners of the Trieste Science Prize (also administered by TWAS) are not eligible for the TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize.


Nominations are invited from TWAS members, selected individuals, as well as from science academies, national research councils, universities and scientific institutions.

Nominations of women scientists are particularly encouraged. Self-nominations and nominations from jury members will not be accepted.


Additional information and nomination forms are available from the TWAS Secretariat (,

Nominations for the 2018 prize should reach the TWAS Secretariat by 16 April 2018 at:

TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize
TWAS Secretariat
ICTP campus, Strada Costiera 11
34151 Trieste, Italy
Telephone: +39 040 2240387
TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize in Engineering Sciences - 2018 TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize in Engineering Sciences - 2018 Reviewed by Lagos University Info on Friday, March 02, 2018 Rating: 5

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.